Young wins 111 Megawatt as Gutzeit secures top 10 finish


South African superstar Wade Young claimed his second consecutive win in the World Enduro Super Series, sweeping to victory in Poland’s Red Bull 111 Megawatt at the weekend.

Pulling clear from his World Enduro Super Series rivals, the Paddock phenom tamed Europe’s largest coal mine to secure the top step of the podium over home hero Taddy Blazusiak and Billy Bolt.

Oslo Beach star Blake Gutzeit secured seventh place.

The 2018 WESS championship was turned on its head when series leader Jonny Walker crashed heavily while leading and failed to finish. After fighting his way up to fourth, Manuel Lettenbichler becomes the new championship leader, with three rounds remaining.
Podium at the Red Bull 111 Megawatt hard enduro race in Kleszczow, Poland on September 9, 2018.

Young, Blazusiak and Bolt on the podium of the Red Bull 111 Megawatt 2018. (Kin Marcin/Red Bull Content Pool)

For Young, the 2018 edition of 111 Megawatt was a race that went like clockwork. Knowing the three laps around the deep sandy quarry would be a gruelling affair, he eased his way into things.
Steady on lap one and happy to sit behind leader Walker, he then hit his stride on lap two, when Walker crashed out. Building his advantage, he made short work of the gigantic sand mounds and quicksand-like terrain to claim victory by over two minutes.
“I got myself close to the front, and then ahead of Jonny when he crashed,” said Young at the finish. “I think we would have had a great battle – it’s not nice to see a rider crash out. It was so important to manage this race well. I felt good and to win here after winning at Red Bull Romaniacs is awesome.
“I feel like I almost had a perfect race. I saw the flag drop at the start, but I was a little behind so I kept it flat out around the outside to get fourth. I had a few little crashes along the way, but managed to settle things down. It’s awesome to get the win.”
Red Bull 111 Megawatt final race start. Kleszczów on September 8 2018.

The start, the most awaited moment! (Future7Media/Red Bull Content Pool)

It was so important to manage this race well. I felt good and to win here after winning at Red Bull Romaniacs is awesome – Wade Young

After a tough start to this year’s WESS, Blazusiak showed he’s back to his best with second in his home race. Despite nursing a broken finger, the Polish maestro put in a calculated performance to finish as runner-up.

I’m super happy to be on the podium, especially carrying an injury – Taddy Blazusiak

Taddy Blazusiak races at Red Bull 111 Megawatt at Kleszczów on September 8 2018.

Second place for Polish idol Taddy Blazusiak. (Future7Media/Red Bull Content Pool)

“I broke a finger at Romaniacs and I have more-or-less no strength or movement in it,” said Blazusiak. “I had to take things carefully on the motocross section, because I was struggling to keep my hands on the handlebars where it was so rough.
“I was second during the first lap and the guys ahead of me were really charging. I got a little arm pump, but once that eased I started to push hard. I feel like I’m starting to turn things around and to be able to get second here in Poland is awesome.”
With the fight for the final steps of the podium coming down to the wire, Bolt shadowed Blazusiak across the line for third, while Lettenbichler took fourth ahead of Saturday’s top qualifier, Nathan Watson.

I felt like had a good race, but a terrible start. I was buried in the pack and the dust made it so, so hard – Manuel Lettenbichler

“I felt like had a good race, but a terrible start. I was buried in the pack and the dust made it so, so hard,” said Lettenbichler after crossing the line. “I managed to catch up to Watson and could see Bolt as well, and battled with those guys. It’s nice to be the new championship leader, but I didn’t earn it like I wanted to. I hope Jonny’s okay, it’s always bad when someone crashes heavily.”

2018 Red Bull 111 Megawatt results

  1. Wade Young (Sherco – RSA) 2h 10m 52.04s
  2. Taddy Blazusiak (KTM – POL) 2h 13m 01.82s
  3. Billy Bolt (Husqvarna – GBR) 2h 13m 08.63s
  4. Manuel Lettenbichler (KTM – DEU) 2h 14m 15.07s
  5. Nathan Watson (KTM – GBR) 2h 15m 34.21s
  6. Josep García (KTM – ESP) 2h 17m 54.59s
  7. Blake Gutzeit (Yamaha – RSA) 2h 19m 07.06s
  8. Graham Jarvis (Husqvarna – GBR) 2h 19m 37.07
  9. Alfredo Gómez (Husqvarna – ESP) 2h 20m 45.11s
  10. Paul Bolton (KTM – GBR) 2h 22m 24.86s

Main photo: Wade Young celebrates. (Tomek Gola/Red Bull Content Pool)


About Author

Leave A Reply