Blowout bodyboarding contest scene off to epic start – photo gallery


Quintin van Jaarsveld

Blowout Bodyboarding Club got the year off to an epic start with an action-packed contest at St Michael’s on Sunday.

Wave riders were greeted with lovely offshore winds and a high tide in the morning, which made for a good start to the day with the dropknee, development and boys divisions taking full advantage and starting off with a bang.

Later on the tide dropped and a firm South West wind started to push. By then, the contest was in full swing with the juniors, pros and men’s riders all shredding the fun conditions and the playful right-hander St Michaels had on offer.

Codi Butterworth sent a clear message that he plans on being a major player this year as he toppled more experienced riders to win the pro division.

The Margate ace also displayed his dropknee skills, finishing third in this division, which was once again owned by South African champion Dune Barker.

Margate star reigns supreme at SA Bodyboarding Champs

Adriaan Duvenage (men’s), Troy Smith (juniors), James Commarmond (boys) and Duncan Vroom (Development) also got off to a winning start.

Club chairman Wesley Coetzee said everything came together, which made for the perfect start to the year.

“We were absolutely overwhelmed with the turnout. It was a really good day for bodyboarding and it was really good to see tons of groms and new faces. This is what Blowout Bodyboarding Club is all about.

“Well done to all competitors and winners. Everyone was on top form and definitely set the standard high for this year’s competitive field.”

The second club contest of the year is slated for 14 May in Winklespruit.


1st – Codi Butterworth
2nd – JC Johnson
3rd – Rory Fellows-Smith
4th – Dane Klusener

1st – Adriaan Duvenage
2nd – Campbell Alanthwaite

1st – Dune Barker
2nd – Dane Klusener
3rd – Codi Butterworth
4th – Rory Fellows-Smith

1st – Troy Smith
2nd – Rohan Nel
3rd – David Jacobson
4th – Quintin Pretorius

1st – James Commarmond
2nd – Clarke Griffins
3rd – Damien Bernstein
4th – Keanu Gould

1st – Duncan Vroom
2nd – James Coull
3rd – Willie Robertse
4th – Justin Nel

Photos by Coral-Lee Worsnip


About Author

Leave A Reply