Naidoo draws first blood at Sheppie Country Club


Ricky Naidoo laid down an early marker by winning the first Auto Exec Monthly Mug of the year at Port Shepstone Country Club.

He claimed the mug on 65 nett.

Also showing good early form in Saturday’s competition was Gavin van Wyk, who boasted the best gross (74) and comfortably won the A Division on 66 nett.

Greg Hornby finished second on 72 and Poen Olivier placed third on 73.

Gerald Koch clinched the B Division after counting out Smittie Stieger and Johann van Niekerk on 67.

Jacky van Heerden won the C Division by two on 66, where Terry Kotze counted out Gary Vogt for second place on 68.

The individual stableford was won by John Beekman (40 points) ahead of John Stapleton (39 points) and Trish Anderson (37 points).

Meanwhile, Wednesday’s betterball stableford saw Ewald Ziervogel and Stuart Betts get the job done on 52 points.

Riaan Ahrens and Phil Myburgh (47) and Gerald Koch and Rob Calder (46 o.c.o) finished second and third respectively.

Photo: A bird’s-eye view of Port Shepstone Country Club. (Airbourne Optix)


About Author

Leave A Reply