Amanzimtoti no match for Margate Country Club ladies

Share the news!!!

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email

The Margate Country Club ladies league team were in good form over the weekend, defeating Amanzimtoti 4-2 at Southbroom on Sunday.

Back at Margate Country Club, Evelyn Burls and Hilary Hendry were neck and neck in the James Bowl, the final of the Medal Winners Competition on Tuesday.

Burls ultimately got the win on 71 nett, narrowly shading Hendry, who finished on 72 nett.

Irene Tomlinson won the Subsidiary Individual Stableford on 39 points, with Chiappini Boshoff finishing second on 36 points after beating Jenny Hulley on a count out.

Victory in Wednesday’s Wobblers Threeball Alliance went the way of Roy Nolan, Jim Finn and Dieter Jucker on 88 points.

A count out saw Andrew Dickerson, Barry Bonet and Dolf Willemse finish second on 86 points and Doug Johnston, Otto Mutschler and Hans Dallinger third.

The Arthur Tomlinson Floater went to Ken Norval, Wayne Minnaar and Rob Brien on 67 points.

Thursday’s Individual Bonus Bogey sponsored by Margate Pro Shop was played in grim, wet and windy conditions, with only a few brave souls completing 18 holes.

Flip Fourie and Graham Scowby both finished on plus one, with the count out going Fourie’s way.

The nearest to pin 16th prize sponsored by Hibiscus Retirement Villages was won by John Webster.

Friday’s Business Day Alliance sponsored by Giorgio Express and Margate Pro Shop was won by Frik van Zyl, PC Volschenk, Marius Visser and Johan Erasmus on 91 points.

Angus McLachlan, Una McLachlan, Neil Townsend and Dennis Reebok were the runners-up (90 points) with Jim Finn, Bruce Matthew, Derrik Matthew and Erich Vogelsanger two points back in third place.

In fourth place were Roy Watkins, Pat McCormick, Louis Smit and Jan Roos on 83 points with Ivan Curlewis, Terry Yannikakis, Tony Fairbairn and John Crewe – also on 83 points – fifth.

Theuns Esterhuizen was the nearest to the pin on the 16th.

Saturday saw Colin Iddon (71 nett) edge Ronnie Mtshaka (72 nett) in the Men’s Monthly Medal sponsored by Hibiscus Retirement Villages.

Fanie Terblanche comfortably won the B division on 66 nett – runner-up Jim Finn some way off on 70 nett – while Richard Plaskitt (74 nett) beat Michael Downs on a count out to win the C division.

Also on Saturday, Rene Paton prevailed in the KZN LGU Monthly Medal on 70 nett.

Lesley Erasmus was second on 71 nett and Sandi Johnston third on 72 after beating Chiappini Boshoff on a count out.


Leave a Reply