Beast back for Sharks

Share the news!!!

Head Coach Robert du Preez has made three changes to the Cell C Sharks team named to play the Jaguares in the round seven Vodacom Super Rugby clash in Durban.

Beast Mtawarira, who was unavailable for selection last week due to the death of his grandmother, makes a welcome return to the starting line-up along with fellow Springbok Stephan Lewies, who replaces Ruan Botha in the number 5 jersey.

Botha joins Thomas du Toit and Philip van der Walt, who is returning from injury, on the bench for this match. Chiliboy Ralepelle, who was a late withdrawal from last week’s team with a quad strain, has also been named on the bench.

Du Preez has always maintained that this competition will require a squad effort and the impetus provided by the bench is going to be very important on Saturday, especially considering the physicality of the match.

Experienced Cell C Sharks scrumhalf Michael Claassens expects a tough battle on Saturday.

“The Jaguares are a tough side to play against. They are a competitive team who are made up of international players and they bring massive physicality to their game.

“Discipline is going to be important. We are still positive after last week’s match and we will be up for this game.”

Commenting on the team’s 2017 campaign, Claassens said, “We’ve come a long way as a team and we are definitely on the right track. Building a team requires time together and consistency.

“We have great respect for our coach and we have all bought into the plan and we all know what we are working towards.”

Cell C Sharks
1 Beast Mtawarira 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle
2 Franco Marais 17 Thomas du Toit
3 Coenie Oosthuizen 18 Lourens Adriaanse
4 Etienne Oosthuizen 19 Ruan Botha
5 Stephan Lewies 20 Philip van der Walt
6 Tera Mtembu (Captain) 21 Michael Claassens
7 Jean-Luc du Preez 22 Jeremy Ward
8 Daniel du Preez 23 Inny Radebe
9 Cobus Reinach
10 Curwin Bosch
11 Lwazi Mvovo (V/C)
12 Andre Esterhuizen
13 Lukhanyo Am
14 Kobus van Wyk
15 Garth April

Leave a Reply