Blowout Bodyboarding Club champions crowned

Share the news!!!

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Quintin van Jaarsveld

Rory Fellows-Smith was the big winner at the Blowout Bodyboarding Club Awards held at St Michael’s Lifesaving Club on Saturday.

The weather wasn’t kind to the club in 2017, allowing only three of the five scheduled contests to take place, however, this led to quality over quantity campaign as wave-riders made the most of every contest in their bids to capture club titles in seven divisions.

Fellows-Smith was sensational this season and his well-rounded skillset saw the Warner Beach ace take out two titles – the prestigious pro and dropknee crowns.

Reece Hargreaves was the breakthrough Blowout bodyboarder of 2017. The Warner Beach-based star was crowned South African men’s champion in Durban in October and added the men’s club crown to his résumé.

The ladies club title went to former South African ladies champion Skye Bothma. A number of promising groms came through the ranks this year, most notably junior champion Rohan Nel, boys champion James Commarmond and development champion Duncan Vroom.

All in all, Blowout continued its legacy as the longest-running bodyboarding club in the country in style this year by producing two South African champions – the aforementioned Hargreaves, and Nico Müller, who emerged as the national dropknee king.


Blowout wave-riders gave a good account of themselves as a whole in the South African Championships, with every member of the new-look Ugu Bodyboarding Association side making the quarter-finals of their respective divisions.

“We are pumped Blowout has closed off yet another amazing year,” said club chairman Wesley Coetzee.

“Not having the biggest turnouts at events sure makes things a little difficult and interesting, but having the most amped guys come anything mother nature throws our way, sure does make all that worth it!

“A huge shoutout goes to the sponsors and people involved which made this event possible. They gave us plenty to froth about. They are Surf HQ, Island Style, Zion SA, Hand Picked, ARS SA, Comfort Cool Air Conditioning, Tower 13 Saints Lifesaving Club, Wayne Beekman, Limited Edition SA and Rossi Board Co.”

WATCH: Margate bodyboarder Wesley Coetzee crushes it

He added the club’s planning big things for next year.

“We are looking to expand next year, running development clinics throughout the year, encouraging young and old to get involved and simply enjoy wave-riding.

“We are looking to have an AGM early next year. All details regarding this will be posted online within the next month. We wish everyone a safe and festive season!”

Watch Uvongo bodyboarder’s epic video

Blowout Bodyboarding Club 2017 standings:


1st. Rory Fellows-Smith
2nd. Wesley Coetzee
3rd. Rohan Nel
4th. Codi Butterworth


1st. Reece Hargreaves
2nd. Travis van Wyk
3rd. Heino Nel
4th. Leeroy Crawford


1st. Skye Bothma


1st. Rory Fellows-Smith
2nd. Dane Klusener and Derek Footit
3rd. Dune Barker
4th. Wesley Coetzee


1st. Rohan Nel
2nd. Troy Smith
3rd. Nathan Milenham
4th. Johnathan Sequeira


1st. James Commarmond
2nd. Jason Sequeira
3rd. Ethan Footit and Clarke Griffins
4th. Damien Bernstein


1st. Duncan Vroom
2nd. James Cou
3rd. Willie Robertse
4th. Justin Nel

Leave a Reply