Hashim bags four awards, AB two

Share the news!!!

Hashim Amla became the third Proteas player to be named South Africa’s cricketer of the year on two occasions, when he received the award for 2012/2013 season at a gala Cricket South Africa (CSA) banquet in Sandton on Monday night.

Amla had previously won the award in 2010 and joined two other dual winners in Makhaya Ntini (2005 and 2006) and Jacques Kallis (2004 and 2011).

Other previous winners of the award include Shaun Pollock (2007), Dale Steyn (2008), Graeme Smith (2009) and Vernon Philander (2012).

It was a special evening for Amla who won four awards in all – the only award for which he was nominated but did not win was the ODI Player of the Year which went to AB de Villiers.

Amla was also named South Africa’s Test cricketer of the year and SA fans’ cricketer of the year by popular vote while his historic treble century in The Oval Test against England in 2012 won him the KFC ‘So Good’ award.

De Villiers picked up a second award as the SA players’ player of the year while Dale Steyn was named KFC T20 international player of the year and Kallis won the RAM SLAM delivery of the year award by dismissing his old rival, Ricky Ponting of Australia, on day one of the second Test match at the Adelaide Oval.

Marizanne Kapp was named South African women’s cricketer of the year while Kyle Abbott rounded out the international awards by being named South Africa’s newcomer of the year.

“This has been another amazing year for our top players,” said CSA CEO Haroon Lorgat.

“It is not easy to keep finding special words to speak about Hashim.

“He has set South African record Test scores since unity against both England and Australia and he is the first player to score a Test treble century for our country.

“As if that is not remarkable enough he is also the No. 1 rated player on the ICC rankings for Test and ODI players.

“The greatest quality he brings to the game is his attitude and humility, which aptly displays the true spirit of cricket.

“This transcends all his international statistics and we are indeed very lucky to have such a wonderful role model for our children to emulate.

“Our Proteas have displayed true world-class performances in the past year and I salute not only the award winners but all of them for a year of great performances especially at Test level.

“I certainly did not envy the job of our distinguished panel of judges!

“I warmly congratulate all our winners including those without whose contribution the game cannot be played, such as our umpires, grounds staff and scorers.”

In the domestic professional category the top awards went to Geoffrey Toyana (coach of the year), Kyle Abbott (domestic players’ player of the uear), Johann Louw (Sunfoil Series cricketer of the season), Richard Levi (Momentum One-Day Cup cricketer of the season) and Quinton de Kock (RAM SLAM cricketer of the season).

The Khaya Majola Lifetime Achievement award went to Hoosain Ayob for his services to the game over many decades as player and coach.

Complete list of winners at CSA’s annual awards ceremony for the season 2012/2013:

International awards:

Cricketer of the year: Hashim Amla
Test cricketer of the year: Hashim Amla
ODI cricketer of the year: AB de Villiers
T20 international cricketer of the year: Dale Steyn
Players’ player of the year: AB de Villiers
Fans’ player of the year: Hashim Amla
KFC ‘So Good’ award: Hashim Amla (for his 311 not out vs. England at The Oval in 2012)
RAM SLAM delivery of the year: Jacques Kallis (for his dismissal of Ricky Ponting on the first day of the second Test against Australia in Adelaide)
Newcomer of the year: Kyle Abbott
Women’s cricketer of the year: Marizanne Kapp

Domestic awards:

Sunfoil Series cricketer of the season: Johann Louw (Cape Cobras)
Momentum One-Day Cup cricketer of the season: Richard Levi (Cape Cobras)
RAM SLAM cricketer of the season: Quinton de Kock (Highveld Lions)
Coach of the year: Geoffrey Toyana (Highveld Lions)
Domestic players’ player of the year: Kyle Abbott (Dolphins)
CSA fair play award: Highveld Lions
SACA most valuable player award: Roelof van der Merwe (Titans)
Domestic newcomer of the year: Ayabulela Gqamane (Warriors)

Operations professional awards:
CSA groundsman of the year: Chris Scott (Wanderers Stadium)
CSA scorers’ association of the year: Gauteng Cricket Board
CSA umpires’ umpire of the year: Shaun George
CSA umpire of the year: Johan Cloete

Leave a Reply