Hibberdene, AMBC claim hard-earned wins in KBA Fours

Share the news!!!

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Hats off to those who played in gale force winds and driving rain in the Kingfisher Bowling Association (KBA) Fours Tournament recently – who said bowls is for sissies?

Fortunately the weather eased off and the semis and finals were played in more pleasant and dryer weather. The finals on the Monday afternoon were outstanding with an incredible display of top-notch bowls.

The men’s winners were Hibberdene’s Bez Bezuidenhout, Danie Human, Arthur Seager and Bruch Hoyer and Riverside’s Dion Audie, Dave Barber, Gerhard Waldeck and Stefan Helberg were runners-up.

In joint third were Hibberdene’s Wayne van Nikkelen-Kuyper, Albert Munnik, Eddie Milne and Riaan van der Berg and Port Shepstone’s Eddie Fann, Roy Anderson, Howard Frizelle and Peter Maggs.

The women’s winners were AMBC’s Delysia Mitchley, Hilary Holmes, Maureen Lancaster and Hester Hankey and Margate’s Jessica Henderson, Pam Cole-Cook, Ellen Cawker and Georgie McKechnie were runners-up.

In joint third were Riverside’s Maureen Muller, Rae Barber, Trish Bell and Pauline Dunlop and Margate’s Annette Payne, Ann Waugh, Yvonne Bausek and Sandy Ferguson.

Women’s winners Hester Hankey, Kilary Holmes, Maureen Lancaster and Delysia Mitchley from AMBC.

The KBA Masters Tournament will be held at Margate on the 30th September and 1st October.

The men’s section is Claude Ching, Dumisani Madlala, Eddie Fann, Ferro van Greunen, Ian Kalil, Louw Vermeulen, Mark Smith, Ron Weddell, Ross Ferguson, Roy Anderson, Shane Nienaber and Simon Shaaij.

The women’s section is Dora Vosloo, Ellen Cawker, Franci Philpott, Georgie Mckechnie, Heather Roberts, Hilary Holmes, Jane Massam, Leoni Booth, Liesje De Rosner, Marianne Van Buuren, Maureen Muller and Pam Cole Cook.

The KBA AGM will be held on Monday, 2 October at 9.30 at Margate Bowling Club. Attendees are asked to wear whites or club colours.

Leave a Reply