Leading local wave wizards crowned Ugu Surfing Champs – photo gallery

Share the news!!!

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Quintin van Jaarsveld

Legends along with current and future stars rose to the occasion in the Ugu Surfing Championships at Scottburgh on Saturday.

Around 60 of the South Coast’s best surfers were met with 2-3 foot waves and light offshore winds, which formed a fitting stage for some scintillating surfing.

Two of the standouts on the day – and the 2017 season – were Jordan Boshoff and Jesse Powell.

Two of Ugu Surfriders’ brightest rising stars, Boshoff banked two titles – winning both the Under-16 and Under-14 boys divisions – while Powell claimed the Under-14 girls title and equally impressively, placed second in the open ladies division.

Boshoff beat Caden Coetsee, Skye Russell and Ziggy Borstlap in the Under-16 final, and saw off Evan Peyios, Luc Lepront and Landon Windvogel in the Under-14 decider.

“It feels great…I’m super stoked and surprised that I managed to win both divisions because the competition was tough and some of my competitors were competing at their home break,” Boshoff told eHowzit.

“The contest was lots of fun. I love competing and it was made even more enjoyable by the fact that a number of my best friends were involved in the contest.”

The Shelly Beach ace impressed throughout 2017.

Less than four years into his budding surfing career, Boshoff reached the quarterfinals at the South African Junior Championships, bagged bronze in the provincial championships and was named Surfer of the Contest in the Sisonke Challenge.

He was presented with the Junior Boys Surfer of the Year award after doing the double on Saturday.

“It’s a huge honour and I feel a great reward for the hours of practice I put in and for those who support me – my family, my coaches, Kyle Maher, who got me into surfing and introduced me to competitive surfing, my current coaches Heather Clark and Royden Bryson, the St Mike’s locals who’re always helping with advice, and my surfboard sponsor ELS.”

Boshoff added he hopes to earn a place in the national championships final and qualify for the South African team in the future.

Jordan Boshoff.

Powell prevailed against Kira Attfield in the Under-14 final and surprised many with a stellar showing in the open ladies final.

Surfing against the legendary Heather Clark and multi-time South African team surfer Chanelle Botha, Powell hinted at a bright future by finishing second behind Clark.

“It feels so awesome and amazing to win the Under-14 girls title,” an elated Powell told eHowzit.

The young gun said of competing against the decorated duo of Clark and Botha in the open ladies final, “I was very nervous in the beginning, but then I got two bombs.”

The St Michael’s standout has been surfing for four years and announced herself on the national stage in 2017.

She finished fifth in her maiden Surfing South Africa Junior Tour after reaching five out of the 10 finals contested across the country, and also placed fifth in the South African Junior Championships, where she eliminated the defending champion on her way to the semi-finals.

She also gained valuable experience against international competitors in the Junior World Surf League.

She was subsequently named the Junior Girls Surfer of the Year.

“I worked so hard last year doing all the contests and trying to surf my best, so it means a lot and I’m so stoked I won it,” she said.

Jesse Powell.

Meanwhile, Calvin Moore fired on all cylinders and clinched the open men’s and masters titles.

Tyler May and Jenna Unsworth took the spoils in the Under-18 divisions, Maya Attfield won the Under-16 girls crown, Luc Lepront and Kira Attfield bossed the Under-12 divisions, Tyne van Achterbergh and JJ Hoffman won the Under-10 and novice boys titles respectively and Louise Lepront prevailed in the combined Under-10 and novice girls division.

“The champs went off very well with a competitive standard across all divisions,” Ugu Surfriders charmain Wade Botha told eHowzit.

“As always, our seniors really put on a show, and I was blown away but the performance and commitment from our Under-10s and Under-12s.”

The evening’s prize-giving at C-Breeze also saw the leading surfers of 2017 rewarded for their efforts.

Multi-time South African champion Gary van Wieringen won the Senior Men’s Surfer of the Year award, with Clark – the country’s most decorated women’s wave rider in history – clinching the Senior Ladies Surfer of the Year award.

Clark also claimed the Most Frothing Senior award, while Daryn Palmer won the Most Frothing Grom gong.

Luc Lepront and Mayah Potgieter were named the most promising surfers of the year, Evan Peyios and Maya Attfield were acknowledged as the most improved surfers of 2017 and Llewellyn Engelbrecht and Louise Lepront won the Best Mini Grom gongs.

The Stepping Up/Blow Up award went to Cody Coetsee, the Sportsmanship award went to Evan Spittal (broken hand and all), Gill Spittal was rewarded for her commitment to surfing, Brandon Lange was named Judge of the Year and Striped Horse Challenge winner Derek Horlock was awarded the Best Use of Social Media award.

Ugu Surfriders’ top seeds for 2017.

Overall, Ugu Surfriders enjoyed a successful 2017 in which they performed well in the senior and junior national championships.

Chairman Botha hailed his committee for making waves out of the water to allow surfers to thrive in it.

“I have an incredible committee behind me and that has made all the difference. Professionalism stars at the top and filters down, so the positive ripple effect has begun.”

Botha added he’s proud of his charges’ efforts and looks forward to bigger and better things in 2018.

“Ugu is in a good position at the moment and we’re really growing in our junior ranks. I see us returning to the higher ranks at the national champs again in the near future.”

The committed contingent of wave-riders were back in the water in Scottburgh on Sunday for the first trial of 2018, dedication that’s sure to stand Ugu Surfriders in good stead this year.

Photos by Claudia Attfield

Ugu Surfing Championships results:

Open Men:
1st Calvin Moore, 2nd Byran Wigmore, 3rd Cody Coetsee, 4th Derek Horlock

Open Ladies:
1st Heather Clark, 2nd Jesse Powell, 3rd Chanelle Botha

1st Calvin Moore, 2nd Chad Delport, 3rd Justin Maisch

U18 Boys:
1st Tyler May, 2nd Caden Coetsee, 3rd Drikus Lubbe

U18 Girls:
1st Jenna Unsworth, 2nd Maya Attfield

U16 Boys:
1st Jordan Boshoff, 2nd Caden Coetsee, 3rd Skye Russell, 4th Ziggy Borstlap

U16 Girls:
1st Maya Attfield

U14 Boys:
1st Jordan Boshoff, 2nd Evan Peyios, 3rd Luc Lepront, 4th Landon Windvogel

U14 Girls:
1st Jesse Powell, 2nd Kira Attfield

U12 Boys;
1st Luc Lepront, 2nd Tyne van Achterbergh, 3rd Llewellyn Engelbrecht, 4th Evan Peyios

U12 Girls:
1st Kira Attfield, 2nd Louise Lepront

U10 Boys:
1st Tyne van Achterbergh, 2nd Llewellyn Engelbrecht, 3rd Daryn Palmer

U10 Girls and Novices:
1st Louise Lepront, 2nd Jaden Jesson, 3rd Holleigh van Achterbergh

Novice Boys:
1st JJ Hoffman, 2nd Slade Jesson, 3rd Hannes Hoffman, 4th Tyde Korsten

2017 Awards:

Senior Male Surfer 2017: Gary van Wieringen
Senior Female Surfer 2017: Heather Clark
Junior Boy Surfer 2017: Jordan Boshoff
Junior Girl Surfer 2017: Jesse Powell
Most frothing Senior: Heather Clark
Most frothing Grom: Daryn Palmer
Most promising boy of 2017: Luc Lepront
Most promising girl of 2017: Mayah Potgieter
Most improved boy: Evan Peyios
Most improved girl: Maya Attfield
Mini Grom Boy: Llewellyn Engelbecht
Mini Grom Girl: Louise Lepront
Stepping up/ Blow up award: Cody Coetsee
Sportsmanship Award: Evan Spittal (broken hand and all)
Commitment to Surfing: Gill Talbot Spittal (keeping finances in check)
Judge of the year: Brandon Lange
Best use of social media: Derek Horlock

Leave a Reply