KZN Road Racing Club champions crowned – photo gallery

Share the news!!!

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Quintin van Jaarsveld

The respective motorcar and motorcycle championship winners for 2018 were crowned at KwaZulu-Natal Road Racing Club’s awards function held at the Pigeon Club on the Bluff on Saturday.

Dezzi South Coast Raceway hosted nine rounds of red-hot racing, each more exciting as the last as bikers and drivers upped the ante in the year-long race to championship glory.

Crowned 2018 motorbike champions were Baron O’Hagan (CBR150 and Motards Class), Roy Hallett (CBR150 Masters Class), Nikolai Conci (300 and 600 Class), Gona Pillay (300 Masters), Bryce Hills (1000 Class), Sanjiv Singh (Superbikes Masters Class), Llewelyn Puren (Powersports Class), Hein Etzel (Supermotards Class), Michael Jansen (Junior Class), Cayden Potgieter (Mini GP A Class) and Rylee Puren (Mini GP B Class).

Confirmed as the champion drivers of 2018 were Duncan Dos Reis (Super GT and Porsche Challenge), John Oliver (Sports Class), Tim Kinsey (Time Attack), Ronald van Rensburg (Modified Saloon A Class), Pierre Potgieter (Modified Saloon B Class), Elton Fuchs (Super Modified Class) and Rory Nossiter (Retro Class).

Special awards were also handed out to those who made the biggest impact in 2018.

Double champion Duncan Dos Reis was the big winner as he was acknowledged as the Driver of the Year. He was also named Stirrer of the Year.

Shiren Rajpaul was named Most Outstanding Driver of the Year, Leo Branders bagged the Most Improved Driver award, Gary Commins clinched the Most Promising New Driver prize, Barry Liggins was voted Most Regular and Consistent Driver and Dane Thompson ‘won’ the Crasher of the Year award.

Two division champion Baron O’Hagan cleaned up on two wheels, winning both the Rider of the Year and Most Regular and Consistent Rider of the Year awards. Ten-year-old Hannah Puren picked up the Ladies Rider of the Year prize, while Michael Jansen was named Best Junior Rider.

Nikolai Conci claimed the Most Outstanding Rider award, Drew Gates grabbed the Most Improved Rider gong, Cayden Potgieter was named Most Promising New Rider and the Crasher of the Year award on went to Sanjiv Singh.

Ronald van Rensburg was presented with the Chairman’s Trophy, Trevor Warmback received the Fellowship Award and Bob West was named Gopher of the Year.

The winners were all presented with a floating trophy and a trophy for their personal trophy cabinets. Some trophies have rich history with names of some of the country’s greatest racers like Kork Ballington, Russel Wood, Trevor Crookes, Hudson Kennuagh and Lance Isaacs engraved on them.

Club chairman Llewelyn Puren said the club shifted into a higher gear in 2018.

“We had a fantastic year with great membership growth, ending the year with 256 members. There was significant growth in the car classes with full grids on a good few occasions. It was amazing to have continued to experience growth in the current economic climate,” Puren told eHowzit.

“KZN has not had a track to play on since the closure of the Hesketh track and without the passion and dedication from Des Gutzeit, the growth and support would not have been possible. A huge thanks goes out to Des and his team for the consistent upgrades and additions to the track facilities.

“We had a few challenging race events with wet weather making things exciting for the competitors and the spectators that braved the bad weather.

“However, the events were well run with very few delays considering some of the incidents on track, and we were well supported by the efficient KZN Marshall Association led by Barry Neal and Michelle Nicol, an absolutely great team.”

Puren concluded by thanking the 2018 committee for their hard work and dedication throughout the year.

Click here to look back at the 2018 KwaZulu-Natal Road Racing Club Championship.

2018 Champions:

Time Attack
1 Tim Kinsey
2 Peter Blofield
3 Dylan Mordaunt
1 Baron O’Hagan
2 Graeme Hunt
3 Alistair Caldwell
Sports Cars
1 John Oliver
2 Mark Futcher
3 Rob Mordaunt
1 Llewelyn Puren
2 Roy Hallett
3 Duncan Day
Super GT
1 Duncan Dos Reis
2 Lawrence Smith
3 Mike McLoughlin
300 Class
1 Nikolai Conci
2 Jesse Conci
3 Malcolm Rudman
300 Masters
1 Gona Pillay
2 Mark Jansen
3 Desmond Samuels
Porsche Challenge
1 Duncan Dos Reis
2 Zahid Hassim
3 Lawrence Smith
150 Class
1 Baron O’Hagan
2 Drew Gates
3 Lee Singh
150 Masters
1 Roy Hallett
2 Llewelyn Puren
3 Jacques Van Eeden
Super Modifieds
1 Elton Fuchs
2 Paul Tarboton
3 Dieter Ziesing
1 Michael Jansen
2 Riley Nadauld
Modified A
1 Ronald Van Rensburg
2 Denver Branders
3 Leo Branders
1 Hein Etzel
2 Karl Etzel
3 Jesse Boshoff
Modified B
1 Pierre Richard Potgieter
2 Dane Thompson
3 Gary Commins
600 Class
1 Nikolai Conci
2 Kewin Bond
3 Clinton Massey-Hicks
1000 Class
1 Bryce Hills
2 Stanley Ndlela
3 Erich Tonsing
1 Rory Nossiter
2 Gary Wade
3 Daryl Mann
Mini GP – A Class
1 Cayden Potgieter
1 Morgan Pieterse
2 Ruben Tonsing
3 Riley Nadauld
Mini GP  – B Class
1 Rylee Puren
2 Riley Day
3 Hannah Puren
4 Gabriel Basson
5 Michayla Tonsing
Modified C
1 Tim Kinsey
2 Barry Liggins
3 Dave Burton
Superbike Masters
1 Sanjiv Singh
2 Derek Oosthuisen
3 Matthew Steytler


Best Junior Rider Michael Jansen
Most Promising New Rider Cayden Potgieter
Most Improved Rider Drew Gates
Crasher of the Year Sanjiv Singh
Most Regular and Consistent Rider Baron O’Hagan
Most Outstanding Rider Nikolai Conci
Most Promising New Driver Gary Commins
Most Improved Driver Leo Branders
Crasher of the Year Dane Thompson
Most Regular and Consistent Driver Barry Liggins
Most Outstanding Driver Shiren Rajpaul
Gopher of the Year Bob West
Fellowship Award Trevor Warmback
Chairman’s Trophy Ronald Van Rensburg
Stirrer of the Year Duncan Dos Reis
Top Lady Rider Hannah Puren
Rider of the Year Baron O’Hagan
Driver of the Year Duncan Dos Reis


Leave a Reply