Wet and wild racing at Dezzi Raceway – photo gallery

Share the news!!!

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Quintin van Jaarsveld

Wet conditions challenged competitors and kept spectators on the edge of their seats as the KwaZulu-Natal Road Racing Club Championship rolled on at Dezzi South Coast Raceway on Saturday.

A field of 140 drivers and motorcycle racers converged on the Oslo Beach where they had their work cut out for them due to wet weather. Some opted out of racing as soon as the wet race board came out, but the top competitors welcomed the challenge.

It turned out to be a day of plenty of thrills and spills with no serious injuries.

One of the stars of the day was Malcolm Rudman, the two-wheel wizard taking the 300 Class spoils in impressive fashion.

“After qualifying on pole in the dry, I kept that momentum for both heats in the rain, bumping bars with Nikolai Conci, Blaze Baker and Drew Gates for the win.

“The rain was no joke with the top five riders all being out on dry tyres. I’m happy to have walked away with the double win, boasting my ability in the rain.”

It wasn’t all smooth sailing for Rudman, though. “For the Formula Extreme race, things didn’t go to plan as I had a gearbox failure in qualifying, leaving me stranded. Luckily, I could use my 400 to help me salvage some points for the day,” he explained.

He added, “I feel like the rain worked in my favour because none of the big bikes could really use their power as an advantage. I started at the back of the grid and ended up snatching two third places.

“With the circumstances I was handed, I was ecstatic with my results and not throwing too many points away. Well done to all the other competitors who braved the rain – it was a cracker day.”

The other bike winners were Lee Singh (150cc), Zane Davidson (150cc Masters), Marc Nel (300cc Masters), Llewellen Puren (Powersports), Hein Etzel (Supermotard and Formula Extreme A), Claus Etzel (Supermotard Masters) and Robin Aldred (Formula Extreme B),

The winning drivers were Duncan dos Reis (Super GT), John Oliver (Sports), Manfred Schroder (Retro), Shiren Rajpaul (Modified A), Daimen Parker (Modified B), Gary Brown (Modified C) and Paul Tarboton (Super Modified).

For more information about the club and their events, visit www.KZNRRC.co.za.

Photos by Graham Montanari, sponsored by Coattech SA Powder Coating

Leave a Reply