PHOTOS: Golfers stay on course in San Lameer 4×4 Challenge

Share the news!!!

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email

San Lameer Country Club hosted the exclusive 4×4 Men’s Team Challenge for the 17th time last week.

This event started in 2000 and has proved to be a winning recipe since day one.

While the event is all about having fun, players take it seriously and the majority of teams dress up daily in their team clothes.

The event featured a total of 128 players (32 teams) made up from players all over South Africa.

The event started on Wednesday with a practice round followed by the welcoming function and the auctioning of the teams.

The auctioning of the teams is a way to raise money for charity and this year, a total of R26 400 was raised for Cansa and Hospice. This money will be awarded to both charities later this year at a formal function.

The format of play was 18 holes fourball alliance, followed by nine holes foursomes on Thursday. Friday saw the other nine holes foursomes and 18 holes betterball and Saturday saw 18 holes IPS being played.

This year’s winners on 399 points were Rumkat, made up of Eric Faben, Leonard Bakkes, Johan Pieterse and Willem Oosthuizen.

San Lameer Golf Director, Meyer du Toit, said it was a superb event. “The weather was perfect and the course was in immaculate condition. It was thoroughly enjoyed by all participants.

“It was great welcoming six new teams to this year’s event, and from what I have heard, we will see them all back next year.

“We would like to thank the main sponsor PWC [PricewaterhouseCoopers] for their generous sponsorship for the last seven years. Their contribution assisted in making this event such a success.

“We would also like to thank our other sponsor, Stellenbrau, who gave us an endless supply of beer for our Beer Festival-themed event.”

Photo: Johan Pieterse, Eric Faben, James du Preez (PWC), Willem Oosthuizen and Leonard Bakkes.

Photos by Justin Klusener Photography


Nearest to the pin round 1:

Hole 4: Francois Strydom

Hole 14: Nardus Van Den Berg

Longest drive hole 3: Elmo Olivier

Nearest to the pin round 3:

Hole 9: Guilome Strydom

Hole 16: Gert Claasen

Longest drive 8: Stanley Speek

Nearest to the pin round 4:

Hole 4: Fiji Pienaar

Hole 14: Glen Schoeman

Longest drive 3: Stanley Speek

Round 1 Alliance winners:

Ghaapenaars – 100 Points

Schalk Oosthuizen

Broeer Mans

Francois Strydom

Frans Van Niekerk

Round 2 Foursomes winners:

Punters – 77 Points

Louis Van Wyk

Chris Poole

Marthinus Van Staden

Eugene Human

Round 3 Betterball winners:

Nimmerstatte – 90 Points C/l

Wim Fourie

Paul Van Rooyen

Johann Taljaard

Rudy Koekemoer

Round 4 Individual winners:

Backswing Boys – 140 Points

Wynand Du Plessis

Cronje De Wit

Willem Kloppers

Johan Janse Van Vuuren

2017 4 X 4 overall winners:

Rumkat – 399 Points

Eric Faben                                                          

Leonard Bakkes

Johan Pieterse

Leave a Reply