Rugby World Cup Preview: Pool D

Share the news!!!

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email

The Land of the Rising Sun is set to host the most closely-contested Rugby World Cup in history, setting the stage for unrivalled drama and excitement when the competition kicks off on September 20, writes Quintin van Jaarsveld.

Twenty teams will converge on Japan to vie for the most coveted prize in the game, the Webb Ellis Cup – a golden symbol of excellence reserved for only the truly great teams.

The ninth edition of the quadrennial global showpiece is set to be the most open yet, with defending champions New Zealand, South Africa, Australia, Wales, Ireland and England all entering as legitimate title contenders.

It’s the world in union, and it’s bound to thrill as the tournament touches down in Asia for the first time ever. With anticipation mounting, we conclude our tournament preview with a breakdown of Pool D.

Pool D: Australia, Fiji, Georgia, Uruguay, Wales

The Wallabies and Wales will be locked in a high-stakes two-horse race for Pool D supremacy. Topping the pool will be paramount for these heavyweights of world rugby in order to avoid a likely quarterfinal clash with England (who are earmarked to top Pool C) and set-up a more favourable showdown with either Argentina or France.

Click here for the full story.

Leave a Reply