Sima crowned Margate matchplay champion

Share the news!!!

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email

By Quintin van Jaarsveld

Douglas Sima added his name to the list of club champions when he won the men’s matchplay championships at Margate Country Club on Sunday.

Sima was up against Robert Mavundla, the winner of the strokeplay championships earlier this year, in the A division final and came away with the silverware.

Brian Jolliffe, in turn, beat Mike Lee in the B division final.

Meanwhile, Lesley Erasmus won the Town Clerks Trophy on 42 points last Tuesday.

Runner-up Margaret Taylor was five points adrift and third-placed Beryl Williamson six points back after beating Anita Scheepers on a count out.

Hans Beilhartz, Roy Knight and Tuckie won Wednesday’s Wobblers threeball alliance on 85 points.

Eddie Scheepers, John Gibson and Dave Boyd finished second on 82 points after ousting Dave Parsons, Brian Jeffreys and Dolf Willemse on a count out.

The Arthur Tomlinson Floater went to Gert Bezuidenhout, Ken Norval and Frank Stephens on 65 points.

Thursday’s individual stableford sponsored by Margate Pro Shop was won on a count out by Rob McArthur on 38 points. Mike Bond was second and Alan Davies third on 37 points.

The nearest to pin prize (sponsored by Hibiscus Retirement Villages) on the 16th was won by Lexley Lewis.

Alan Davies and Brian Jeffreys (48 points) won Saturday’s men’s betterball stableford by one point with Fanie Terblanche and Sbu Ntozakhe (47 points) second and Brian Jolliffe and Allan Halvorsen (46 points) third.

The winners of the ladies betterball stableford, also played on Saturday, were Una McLachlan and Evelyn Burls on 43 points.

They beat Wondra Bothma and Beryl Williamson on a count out, while Margaret Ford and Janet Dowling won the jackpot on 13 points.

Leave a Reply