Southbroom reign supreme in KZN Inter-Club golf competition

Share the news!!!

KwaZulu-Natal Golf Union president Neil Champion with Southbroom’s Phillip le Roux, Gavin Sole, KwaZulu-Natal Golf Union secretary Alan Devitt and Jason Ackerman.

By Quintin van Jaarsveld

Southbroom continued their excellent track record on South Coast soil when they were crowned KwaZulu-Natal Inter-Club champions at Margate Country Club on Sunday.

Nearly 1000 golfers from across the province teed off at Port Shepstone, Southbroom and Margate on Friday with the top performing and most consistent teams going on to contest the finals of the provincial inter-club competition at Margate on Sunday.

The team of Jason Ackerman, Phillip le Roux and Gavin Sole emulated the feat of the Southbroom side who clinched the silverware the last time the South Coast hosted the competition in 2012 after beating Kloof 2-1 in the A division semi-finals and a much-vaunted Mount Edgecombe team 2½-½ in the final.

Ackerman beat Simon Taylor 2-1, Le Roux holed a 10-foot putt to halve his game against Dave Brown and Sole defeated Dale Burraston 4-2 to seal Southbroom’s third KwaZulu-Natal Inter-Club title in five years.

“We’re very chuffed to win it as underdogs,” Sole told eHowz!t.

“Kloof and Mount Edgecombe were the more experienced teams on paper with Kloof having a KZN player in their team and Mount Edgecombe consisting of three mid-amateur players with a host of experience, so we knew it was going to be tough, but the guys played really well.”

Sole added that Margate Country Club has become somewhat of a home away from home and a happy hunting ground for Southbroom players in recent years.

“Local knowledge definitely helps. We know the Margate course well and it seems to favour us.

“When we play league at Margate we play well for some reason, too, so the guys really enjoy the course.”

Margate miss out

The Margate team of Ronald Mtshaka, Elvis Khawula and Douglas Sima defeated Mount Edgecombe to book their place in the B division final against Howick.

Sima and Steven Denning had it all to play for after Mtshaka and Sean Hill had notched up victories for their respective sides and went tit for tat throughout the third and decisive game.

Sima had a clutch putt on the 18th but failed to find the hole and with that, Howick came away with the spoils.

Margate KZN Inter-Club 14
Margate narrowly missed out in the B division final.

Durban dominance, Port Shepstone pride

Durban won the Frog division with a clean sweep over Umhlali in the final, while Port Shepstone’s Charles Mostert, Leon Reeders and Dave Mee saw off Southbroom’s Bruce Mathews, Don Osborne and Dries Barkhuizen 2-1 in the Senior Frog division final.

Margate Country Club manager Dereck Hirson said the club was proud to co-host the competition again.

“The competition was a great success and we received a lot of compliments on the conditions of the course,” Hirson told eHowz!t.

“It was a welcome boost in turnover in these trying times for all three clubs and we thank the golfers and their families for their support.

“Good golf was played over the three days and the competitiveness and camaraderie among the players were fantastic. We look forward to hosting the competition again.”

Leave a Reply