PHOTOS: Port Shepstone Country Club comes alive with Beekman Classic buzz

Share the news!!!

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Inclement weather did little to dampen golfers’ spirits during the Beekman Classic held at Port Shepstone Country Club on Friday and Saturday.

The competition, one of the club’s most popular annual events, was very well supported on and off the course, which made for a festive atmosphere.

The winners of Friday’s “warm-up” competition, a fourball alliance with two scores to count, were Bevis Fairbrother, Jaco Buitendag, Howard Crouch and Ken Morris on 93 points.

The runners-up on 92 were Ronnie Mtshaka, Ndumi Ncemane, Sbu Ntozakhe and Koko Zithumane and finishing third on 91 were Sanjay Singh, Paul Geoffery, Abel Yeeranna and Rajen Naidoo.

The silverware was on the line on Saturday. The format was betterball stableford and none were better than Ryan Ringo and Daryl D’Arcy, who came out as 2019 champions on 48 points.

Barry van der Veen and Greg Small finished second on 47 while Sbu Ntozakhe and Koko Zithumane won a count out for third place on 46.

Bagbreek, formerly known as Four-5-Seconds, rained down the tunes on Friday evening and an auction was held to raise extra funds on Saturday night. Items that went under the hammer included an Umthunzi Honeymoon Suite voucher plus a seafood dinner valued at R7000, Cleveland golf bags and televisions.

John Beekman from event hosts The Beekman Group said, “Thank you to everyone for their support for this annual event. To members and visitors – your support was truly appreciated. I would also like to thank my staff Madeleine, Brandon and Mark for all their assistance too.”

Beekman, who’s also the president of Port Shepstone Country Club, added, “All cash raised goes towards the club and will assist in paying off the solar panels that we installed which is working very well in saving money on electricity for the club.”

Sandy Danckwerts, the club’s advertising, media and marketing co-ordinator, also expressed her gratitude to everyone who made the event the success that it was.

“Thank you to all the golfers who supported the event, to main sponsor Curnow KZN and to all the other sponsors who made this event possible.

“Also, thanks to Lane Allan for orchestrating the auction and a very big thank you to John Beekman for his constant dedication towards the Port Shepstone Country Club. The club would not be where it is today without the hard work and dedication that John puts into the club,” she said.

Photo: John Beekman (right) from event hosts The Beekman Group congratulates winners (from left) Ryan Ringo and Daryl D’Arcy.

Leave a Reply