Sole still Southbroom’s ‘Big Fish’ as Anderson seals women’s silverware

Share the news!!!

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Quintin van Jaarsveld

Gavin Sole won his umpteenth club championship at Southbroom Golf Club at the weekend.

The “Big Fish” all but wrapped up the title on Saturday with an excellent first-round 66 and followed it up with a second-round 74 to win by a whopping 14 shots on 140.

Gary Purtell was the runner-up on 154 (78 and 76) with Kevin Murray finishing third on 162 (80 and 82).

The Men’s B Division was won by delighted Grant Richards on 165 (82 and 83), 10 and 13 ahead of closest competitors George Haynes (84 and 91) and Osie Osborne (91 and 87) respectively.

Malcolm Moorley (35 and 37) held off a late surge by Gerald Fitzgerald (38 and 33) to win the Men’s C Division by one on 72 gross, with Simon Shusha (32 and 36) finishing third on 68.

Malcolm Greenland boasted the best overall nett (145) ahead of Tony Westoby (147), while Chris Ledden (65) pipped Bob Clark (64) for the individual stableford spoils.

Men’s winners Malcolm Moorley (C Division), Gavin Sole (A Division) and Grant Richards (B Division).

Heather Anderson, meanwhile, was crowned Ladies Silver Slub champion.

After a first-round 93, Anderson overcame a one-shot overnight deficit and strung together a final-round 85 to secure the silverware by two shots on 178.

Overnight leader Janet Humphrey finished second with rounds of 92 and 88.

The Ladies Bronze Medal was won by steady Shelley Myers on 190 (97 and 93). In second place was Regina Bosshart (102 and 94), after a much-improved final-round effort, and in third place was Anita Landolf (96 and 100), both on 196.

Lady captain Michelle Davies won the Bronze Stableford on 63 gross (26 and 37), where Jeanette Peyios placed second on 57 (24 and 33).

The best nett belonged to Alexander Huber (153) followed by Lorraine Cook (156), while Irene Schanda was streets ahead in the individual stableford, her winning score of 57 a dozen ahead of runner-up Candida Amm.

Ladies winners Shelley Myers (Bronze Medal) Heather Anderson (Silver Club champion) and Michelle Davies (Bronze Stableford).

Leave a Reply