Southbroom Club Champs most thrilling in years

Share the news!!!

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email

The 2020 Southbroom Strokeplay Club Championships was the most thrilling in recent memory.

The weather was superb, the golf course magnificent, there was a great field of 78 players and some very close finishes.

Defending champion Gavin Sole won once again, but only by two from David Rush. “The Big Fish” was pushed all the way but kept his cool and birdied the last two holes to claim his ninth strokeplay club title in a row and record 11th overall.

Detlef Wichmann was more convincing in the B Division, finishing on 162, ahead of Russell Mackenzie on 168.

Roger Phillips won the C Division with 74 points, beating Jim Cook into second place on 73 points, one ahead of Malcolm Moorley in third place.

Meanwhile, the Ladies Silver Division was won by Heather Anderson on 167, ahead of Janet Humphrey in second place.

This year, the Ladies Bronze and Copper Divisions were played under a different format, namely ‘Maximum Score Strokeplay’ (Rule 21).

This means that they could not make more than four over on any hole, in other words, Medal play but capped at Max 4 over par. This is a format halfway between stableford and pure strokeplay.

The Bronze Division was won by Anita Landolf on 192, only two ahead of Sandy Fitzgerald on 194.

The Copper Division was won by a very excited Augustine D’Ewes. She had been battling with her game prior to the club championships but came good at the perfect time, finishing on 197 ahead of Eli Bachmann on 202.

Photo: 2020 Southbroom strokeplay club champions Gavin Sole and Heather Anderson.

Men’s winners (from left) Roger Phillips (C Division), Gavin Sole (club champion) and Detlef Wichmann (B Division).
Ladies winners (from left) Anita Landolf (Bronze Division), Heather Anderson (club champion) and Augustine D’Ewes (Copper Division).

Leave a Reply