South Coast trio selected for KZN Country Districts golf team

Share the news!!!

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email

By Quintin van Jaarsveld

Three South Coast golfers have been named in the KwaZulu-Natal squad who will compete in the South African Inter-Provincial Tournament to be played at the Fish River Sun Hotel and Country Club in the Eastern Cape from 12-16 May.

Altaaf Bux (Port Shepstone) and Jan McDermott (Margate) have made the eight-man team while Phillip le Roux (Southbroom) is one of two reserves after solid showings in the KwaZulu-Natal Country Districts Interzone Championships at Empangeni Golf Club at the weekend.

Bux, who secured his first Port Shepstone men’s club championship title by a record 18 shots and set an all-time club championship record of nine-under last year, finished third in the championship on 152 after a first-round 77 and second-round 75.

Matthew Kidd (Richards Bay) looked poised to take the title after an excellent first-round 70 but had to be content with second place after slumping to a second-round 81 and finishing on 151, one behind winner Shane Douglas (Zimbali).

McDermott carded a first-round 80 and second-round 76 for a share of sixth place on 156 with Le Roux joint 23rd along with Elvis Khawula (Margate – 79 and 82) among others on 161 after rounds of 81 and 80.

David Rush (Southbroom) was joint 30th on 163 (84 and 79), Douglas Sima (Margate) was 38th on 165 (81 and 85), Kwanele Mkhoma (Port Shepstone) was 43rd on 168 (84 and 84), Patrick Mavundla (Margate) was joint 44th on 169 (87 and 82), George Bothma (Margate) was joint 52nd on 171 (88 and 83) and Gary Purtell (Southbroom) was 59th on 175 (8 and 87).

Southern KwaZulu-Natal finished fifth in the Interzone, which was won by Zululand A.

KwaZulu-Natal Country Districts team: Corné van Deventer (Vryheid – captain), Sean Baker (Kokstad), Andrew Burmester (Umhlali), Altaaf Bux (Port Shepstone), Shane Douglas (Zimbali), Sipho Hlongwa (Ladysmith), Jan McDermott (Margate), Steve Phytides (Zimbali).
Reserves: Brian Dougherty (Umhlali), Phillip le Roux (Southbroom).
Manager: Waynand de Swardt (Zululand/KZNGU Executive.


Leave a Reply