White, Hearder the big winners of Quattro ROAG Series

Share the news!!!

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Tyronne White and Christie Hearder left the Hilton Bush Lodge in Pietermaritzburg on Saturday night with the biggest cheques for any mountain bike series in the country after being confirmed as the winners of the season-long Quattro ROAG Series powered by Momentum.

Joining White and Hearder as big winners at the official series’ awards dinner were Nomore Mandivengerei and Sarah Gray who claimed the honours as the top male and female athletes in the associated trail running series.

The mountain biking and trail running series are year-long Grand Prix-style competitions which took place in conjunction with ten of KZN’s top one-day mountain bike and trail running events. The series ran from February through to September with riders earning points according to finishing positions at each event. The best six results counted toward final finishing positions.

Top men’s rider, White, and the women’s winner, Hearder, who both ended the season with a perfect score of 600 points after winning six of the series events during the season, each picked up a cheque for R25 000 for their efforts.

White started the year strongly with wins at the opening three events — the Illovo Wartburg, Kamberg and Husqvarna Classics. He followed up later in the year with victories at the Gooderson Drak Gardens, Scottburgh and Tour de Krantz and finished in the top four at every one of the ten series events.

Hearder also started with wins in Wartburg and Kamberg, before adding victories at Sugar Rush and Drak Gardens, but then needed to win the final two events of the season, the Tour de Krantz and Safire Baynesfield, to wrap up her perfect score. Hearder also finished second at Scottburgh and the Illovo Eston.

Previous winner Andrew Hill (452 points) and Andrew Johnson (440) were second and third men in the MTB series respectively, while Brenda Potts (422) and Nadine Nunes (415) filled the minor placings in the women’s series.

Mandivengerei and Gray, who ended the year on 514 and 572 points respectively, received R10 000 each and faced much stiffer competition to claim their victories.

Zimbabwean Mandivengerei only finalised his title in the final event of the season and he was chased hard by Linda Zondi (476) and Mdu Zondi (428).

Gray ended up with a deceptively large victory but only confirmed her title at the penultimate event of the year, the Tour de Kranz. Nokukhanya Memela (498) and Apiwe Gaga (496) were second and third in an incredibly tight battle for the runner-up spot.

Guest speaker at the function on Saturday night was sports psychologist Dr Kirsten van Heerden. Van Heerden is one of only a handful of people to have represented South Africa as an athlete and then use that knowledge in conjunction with her PhD in sports psychology to help Olympians, world champions and South African sports teams achieve their goals.

The Quattro ROAG Series powered by Momentum is organised and administered by the Race Organisers Admin Group (ROAG) which is one of South Africa’s biggest entry and event administration systems for participation sports.


Overall – Male: 1 Tyronne White; 2 Andrew Hill; 3 Andrew Johnson.
Overall – Female: 1 Christie-leigh Hearder; 2 Brenda Potts; 3 Nadine Nunes.
Youth – Male: 1 Daniel Van der watt; 2 Nicholas Burczak; 3 Sven Van zuydam.
Youth – Female: 1 Amy jade Boik.
Juniors – Male: 1 Johandre’ Marx; 2 Kusaselihle Ngidi; 3 Ethan Jackson.
Juniors – Female: 1 Sarah Ryan.
Senior – Male: 1 Mazwi Smimango; 2 Dean Van dyk; 3 Jedson Tooms.
Senior – Female: 1 Christie-leigh Hearder; 1 Tyronne White; 2 Andrew Hill.
Sub-Vets – Male: 1 Tyronne White; 2 Andrew Hill; 3 Byron Ekerold.
Sub-Vets – Female: 1 Ilse Longmore; 2 Alison Wasserfall.
Vets – Male: 1 Andrew Johnson; 2 Carl Adendorff; 3 Markus Kaumpek.
Vets – Female: 1 Nadine Nunes; 2 Debrah Thomas; 3 Belinda Mason.
Masters – Male: 1 Jeremy Thomson; 2 Deon Le roux; 3 Neil Crosthwaite.
Masters – Female: 1 Brenda Potts; 2 Linda Erskine; 3 Wendy Corkin.
Grand Masters – Male: 1 Peter Corkin; 2 Raymond Mc callum; 3 David Davie.
Grand Masters – Female: 1 Marion Sykes.
Nippers – Male: 1 Cade Smith; 2 Troy Cole; 3 Max Johnson.
Nippers – Female: 1 Madison Bateson.
Sprogs – Male: 1 Joshua Johnson; 2 Matthew Horter; 3 Mitchell Boik.
Sprogs – Female: 1 Errin Mackridge; 2 Jodi Mackinnon; 3 Chloe Allison.
Sub-Juniors – Male: 1 Sean Yelland; 2 Omar Wilson; 3 Justin Swanepoel.
Sub-Juniors – Female: 1 Emily Van heerden; 2 Riley Smith; 3 Amber Cole.

Trail Running:
Overall: Male: 1 Nomore Mandivengerei; 2 Linda Zondi; 3 Mdu Zondi.
Overall: Female: 1 Sarah Gray; 2 Nokukhanya Memela; 3 Apiwe Gaga.
Senior: Male: 1 Nomore Mandivengerei; 2 Linda Zondi; 1 Sarah Gray.
Senior: Female: 1 Sarah Gray; 2 Nokukhanya Memela; 3 Apiwe Gaga.
Vet: Male: 1 Mdu Zondi; 2 Carel Le Roux.
Vet: Female: 1 Patricia Dammann; 2 Hayley Mackinnon.
Master: Male: 1 Neil Mackenzie; 1 Karen Maiden.
Overall Short Course: Male: 1 Evan Walker.
Overall Short Course: Female: 1 Brigitte von Buddenbrock; 2 Hana Newlands; 3 Jana Dammann.
U/13: Male: 1 Evan Walker.
U/13: Female: 1 Hana Newlands.
U/18: Female: 1 Brigitte von Buddenbrock; 2 Jana Dammann.

Photo: All the winners at the prize-giving for the Quattro ROAG Series powered by Momentum. (Andrew McFadden)

Leave a Reply